PBXes » English » Bugs » RE: GTalk trunk failing intermittently
Print Page | Recommend to Friend | Add Thread to Favorites
Post New Thread Post Reply
Author
Post « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
mis
Grünschnabel

Registration Date: 04.02.2013

traurig GTalk trunk failing intermittently Post Reply with Quote Edit/Delete Post Report Post to a Moderator       IP Information Go to the top of this page

I have been using pbxes since 2011 and have recommended the service to a number of colleagues, and am generally pretty happy about it. However, I have had a number of issues over the years with my GTalk trunk randomly disconnecting...

I have a Google Voice account, and a GTalk trunk that connects to it. I use a YeaLink SIP phone to connect to my PBXes extension. Randomly (sometime twice a day, sometimes not for a week or more), calls will fail to connect and I will get a "no response, timed out" error on the phone itself. After this occurs, I will continue to get the "timed out" messages until I "fix" the issue.

To temporarily resolve the issue, I have to log into my PBXes account, click on the offending GTalk trunk, and re-enter and savey password TWICE. After this, calls will connect until the issue randomly presents itself again. I feel it's important to note that when I log in to my PBXes account to "fix" the issue, the GTalk trunk always says "connected" in green, even when it isn't working. At no time does the trunk actually say "disconnected". Over the years I have had several ISPs and different network environments and the issue persists. Even using a softphone on a cell over data connection does not resolve it...

I am using a paid account, although I occasionally switch to free service when I am behind financially. The issue exists in free, premium, and SOHO subscription modes.